What happened to Christmas?

It came to me today that we have lost something about Christmas. Remember the Christmases from before life became dominated by the Internet? We went shopping for Christmas cards, some had religious themes, others were pure humour, some even naughty. Some of us selected the ones that we thought were pretty, pine trees coated with snow and many sparkled with glued on glitter. There would be Christmas cards with gold and red and green, with trees covered in decorative glass baubles and silver tassels, some would be blue and silver and some would be gold. in the background old Bing crooning away “I’m dreaming of a white Christmas!” We would also be listening to old favourites, Jingle Bells, Jingle Bells, and Rudolph the red nosed reindeer. People today might think that was rather hokey, but it gave an atmosphere, and kids loved it.

     I was thinking about this today because I was on Facebook, and it was dominated by meteorological charts and lists of the coldest temperatures on record. I don’t think I ever knew what the temperature was outside, I knew it was cold, I knew that snow was cold, I knew that cold winds were cold, but I never knew what the degree was! Would I have gone outdoors so easily and happily? I don’t know, I was obliviously ignorant.

     With the beginning of the Internet there were all kinds of E-cards online. We sent them to each other and no longer bought cards and put them in the post. In the beginning everyone sent them to everyone, but no one has been sending them this year. So tomorrow is Christmas Eve and the next day is Christmas Day, followed by Boxing Day for the Brits and then it’s all over until next year. Did we lose something?

© Stephanie Hunt-Crowley

About itsthatwoman

You must have met me or someone like me at some time in your life - she was THAT WOMAN that called the power company to tell them the lights were off because everyone else thought someone else would have called. She was THAT WOMAN that called the newspaper when the delivery boy dropped all the papers in the gutter, and nobody else did. She was THAT WOMAN that called the telephone company, the grocery store chain and the auto manufacturer, and reported spammers and harassing telemarketers - because nobody else did. So in honor of THAT WOMAN I have inherited the title - and it ITS THAT WOMAN again!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to What happened to Christmas?

  1. Eva Van Stratum says:

    Merry Christmas 🙂 Carson’s daughter loves this colder weather & is looking forward to opening her present (yes it squeaks) in a few days.

Leave a comment